Music: Chants du Sud et du Nord

image

I realize I am just one of thousands of people creatively inspired by the Armitage muse, although I rarely need him when it comes to music.  Would he like this one? Maybe. But I like it, and I hope you will, too.

This is a lovely piece that I heard for the first time today (thank you, KNPR) from a group called Hirundo Maris (Sea Swallow). Founded by Arianna Savall, from Spain, and Petter Udland Johansen, from Norway, they play an interesting blend of Nordic and Mediterranean influenced early music, ranging from the Middle Ages to the Baroque period.  I liked it enough to hunt it down online, although I am disappointed that it isn’t on Spotify. iTunes, never one to miss an opportunity to take my money, came through.

This is a lovely piece of music from the debut album Chants du Sud et du Nord entitled “El Mariner” (The Sailor). Let me know if you if you like it as much as I do.

And Spotify? You’re missing out on this one.

Here


3 thoughts on “Music: Chants du Sud et du Nord

  1. This is gorgeous – thanks so much for the recommendation! I love early music anyway but this is such a wonderful blend of voice and instruments (and what a lovely voice she has!). Off to buy the album! 🙂

    Like

  2. Isn’t it beautiful? It was such an unexpected thing for our classical station to play. I was in horrible traffic and then this lovely little piece calmed me down. I

    Like

  3. Isn’t it beautiful? It was such an unexpected piece to hear on our classical station. I was driving in terrible traffic and it calmed me right down. I love early music, too. I’m debating on buying the entire album or not. I’m glad you enjoyed it.

    Like

Comments are closed.