Shattering Commandments on the Spot

There is a line in the film The Lion in Winter where Eleanor of Aquitaine describes the first time she sees Henry :

“He came down from the North to Paris with a mind like Aristotle’s and a form like mortal sin. We shattered the commandments on the spot.”

Thank you, Laura Ann Day for posting this, because never have I wished to be a fork before this day.

image

I’ve not a clue what this picture is from – I’m sure one of you will tell me – but were this facing me from across a table, I would be silently weighing each commandment I’d be tempted to break.

Side note: I wouldn’t mind seeing an Armitage production of The Lion in Winter. He’s reaching the age where he could play Henry. Give him a wily actress ten years older to play Eleanor and sparks would fly.

That is all.


6 thoughts on “Shattering Commandments on the Spot

  1. It’s one I haven’t seen yet. He may be playing a jerk in that scene, but holy cow! What a good looking jerk!

    I didn’t know that about The Lion in Winter. He has excellent taste in plays.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think the theme of “Armitage as theater lover” has stayed under the radar a bit, but he used to be spotted in theater audiences a fair bit and supposedly that was part of why he chose NYC over LA — the theater offerings. I can imagine that given his preparation he’s seen a lot of different sorts of plays, too.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I did not know that about him, but it makes sense. It’s all preparation for future rolls. I wonder what some of his favorite productions are. I always thought he would make a good Petruchio.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.