Armitage Acts of Kindness: December 15

Two acts of kindness today: the first was dropping off a pullover to our registrar who is the unofficial mom to all our homeless kids. I’ve worn it once. When I bought it, I thought it was the kind of sweatshirt that zipped all the way up, but it’s not. It has the school logo on it. It will keep someone warm.

The second act of kindness was a simple hug for the man who rings the Salvation Army bell outside the grocery store. It’s cold out there and the wind is picking up. Grumpy people are everywhere, yet he is always polite and always has a smile. He deserved a hug.

I also got a compliment today that I consider high praise: Mrs. Jackson, one of the office secretaries, asked me, “Are you sure you’re not a sista?” – based on the pie I baked. She is African American. I am Scots-Irish. I’m grinning from ear to ear that my baking has passed muster.

Here’s to the sistahood.

And Mr. A? If you are ever in town, let me bake you a pie.